Three years and counting

Three years ago on this day, I married my best friend and my hero. It’s been a bit more than nine years since we met and decided that we kinda fancied one another. It’s been a blur, really. But, it’s been real and honest and lovely. And, better than I’d thought possible.

There is no one on the planet with whom I’d rather spend the majority of my time, and there is no one who can make me smile and laugh when I least feel like it. From the most boring of days when nothing at all exciting happens to those days when information overload seems blissful and restive, he’s got my back and somehow anticipates precisely what I need (even when I have no idea myself what that is). He’s my ray of sunshine in the darkness and the kick in the ass I need when I’m being absurd. And, he’s my biggest cheerleader when I need that extra bit of encouragement. (I swear, if I bought him the skirt and pom poms, he’d put them on gladly, and learn to do a herkie and the cheers just to make me smile and help me cross the finish line of whatever race I’m running.)

I’d of course imagined having a partner in life before he and I met, and hoped I’d find one. I never expected the reality to be infinitely better and more meaningful than anything I’d dreamed of, I must admit. Perhaps what’s most surprising to me is his ability to continue to surprise me.

Best of all, it just keeps getting better.

Happy Anniversary, my darling. I can’t wait to see where we go next.

First of many selfies, ca 2005

First of many selfies, ca 2005

Sunshine and sunscreen, ca 2008

Sunshine and sunscreen, ca 2008

Sea, surf and sweetness

Sea, surf and sweetness, ca 2009

Just because, ca 2009

Just because (and with a side of coffee), ca 2009

Just after we got hitched, 24 August 2011 (Helsinki)

Just after we got hitched, 24 August 2011 (Helsinki)

One thought on “Three years and counting

  1. Pingback: Simple gestures | A Tropical Fish Out of Water

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.